It’s Not About Hating Hillary Clinton

Source: huffingtonpost.com

It’s about believing in Barack.

When it comes to forgetting that, I’m as guilty as they come. Guilty of twisting myself into something more “anti-Hillary” than “pro-Obama.” Guilty of letting righteous indignation cloud the big picture. Most of all — I’m guilty of forgetting what drew me to the “skinny kid with a funny name” in the first place.

The past Sunday reminded me.

Like most of the world, I became aware of Barack Obama through “the speech.” I remember feeling so excited that night — feeling the first faint glimmer of hope that we might actually claw our way out of the partisan sinkhole we’d fallen into (and remain in). It was the same excitement I’d felt when I stuck a Clinton/Gore pin on my backpack in ’92 — before I was old enough to vote (funny how things change, huh?).

Yes, he was inspiring, but there was nothing “Messianic” about him — he was just offering good old-fashioned common sense. A reminder that the same stars and stripes fly on the front porches of Louisville and Los Angeles. That when a building falls in New York City, tears fall in Birmingham. That we’re all in this together, and woe is the American who forgets it.

Four years later, I’d forgotten it. After supporting Hillary early on (call it pragmatism, call it brand loyalty), things, well… changed. I became disenfranchised. Disappointed. Disgusted. Hillary’s implosion of inevitability became my must-rant topic at social gatherings. I was so angry that I started writing about how angry I was. It got so bad that every time I saw Hillary’s face on the view screen of Wolf Blitzer’s starship, I had the urge to spear my TV with a curtain rod.

But as the inimitable Powers Boothe once said to C. Thomas Howell in Red Dawn, “all that hate’s gonna burn you up, kid.”

Powers was right. I’d grown so incensed that I’d forgotten that feeling. That excitement. That hopefulness that we could tip the political scales — even just a little — from lesser evils to greater goods. Over the weekend, as I worked on a draft of another anti-Hillary rant (“Cinco de Lie-O,” and it’ll never see the light of day) I was overcome with exhaustion. I just didn’t want to write about her anymore. I was tired of being “against.” I wanted to be “for.” All that hate was burning me up.

That was my state of mind when I sat down to watch Barack on Sunday’s Meet the Press. In that hour, I remembered why I like the skinny kid with a funny name.

I watched him admit mistakes. Speak candidly about his campaign’s troubles and stand his ground on the gas tax gimmick. I watched him speak about Iraq, Iran, and Afghanistan without resorting to rhetoric, and defend his patriotism without attacking his detractors. He was poised, positive, and dare I say — presidential.

I remembered that I believe in Barack.

This is not me singing “kumbaya” around the campfire. My opinion of Hillary isn’t likely to change, and I’ll continue to criticize her until she finally lets go of that snow globe and mutters “Rosebud.” (I will, however, try and criticize her with a touch less vitriol — but no promises).

And in the unlikely event that she secures the nomination? I’ll blog from the mountaintops to get her elected. I won’t feel good about it, because I don’t believe in Hillary. But I won’t cut off my nose to spite my country.

I believe in Barack. Maybe you don’t.

But I don’t hate you for it.

19 comments so far

  1. weight loss show casting on

    It’s an amazing paragraph for all the internet viewers; they will obtain advantage from it I am sure.

  2. internet lifestyle reviews on

    I quite like reading a post that will make people think.
    Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

  3. http://me0121.com/ on

    She’ll adore to indulge in playful repartee with you. Its not charming, because its neither real
    nor authentic. Some girls discover it difficult to get boys’
    interest because she might believe that he is
    not captivated to her.

  4. full money system on

    It’s really very complex in this full of activity life
    to listen news on TV, so I only use world wide web for that reason, and take
    the most recent information.

  5. A mobile phone situation will assist to maintain your phone
    protected and it can add some pizzazz and style. 3rd celebration programs
    have begun including duplicate and paste features, but Apple has however to get on board.

  6. www.fybersearch.com on

    The Apple iphone has everything a developer can hope for with very little not to like.
    However, the response of the stock market is not a very dependable barometer in the case of Apple.

  7. Kathleen on

    Sprint won’t be on your own in the increased sales for the iphone 5.
    One can have handset of his choice by paying some little much
    more quantities. Conduct your study properly regarding the costs.

  8. coloring pages on

    It requires a will of steel, three factors:
    a target, and a throat. Have a look at this amazing site for a
    great personalized Christmas tale for everyone. You will desire to check out the
    Glowing Red goods, if you’ve gone red.

  9. coloring pages elves on

    Vending machines, cafeterias and gift shops can be your setting of shopping.
    These macarons were considerably unique of those who are sold today.

    Make a master set of your entire must get prepared.

  10. ace fishing wild catch hack on

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you, However I am having issues with your RSS.

    I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting similar RSS issues?
    Anyone that knows the solution can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

  11. cydia themes on

    As you do it, you then have to wait around for a couple of seconds for the notification message to appear.
    Also, there is a risk of virus infecting your gadget. It is produced with the distinctive
    IPS technology, so it supports multi-touching.

  12. low card foods on

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am in fact impressed to read all at
    one place.

  13. Everett on

    That you don’t need to take part in a quarrel as opposed to express your truth.
    The sentry had guidelines if he noticed something to ring the
    bell. Here is the next within the sequence.

  14. you’re really a just right webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing.
    It sort of feels that you are doing any distinctive trick.
    Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece.
    you have done a fantastic task on this topic!

  15. goji pro como tomar on

    Right away I am ready to do my breakfast,
    later than having my breakfast coming yet again to read other news.

  16. gallery.tarthorst.net on

    You’ll first have to login to your toolbar if you’re not currently.
    If you screw up, nevertheless, you can confront some data-loss, therefore I took measures.
    They are one of the most inexpensive form of
    shades.

  17. dildo sex shop bucuresti on

    Cele mai vrea să fie cu o fată care se simt bine despre ei înșiși , cineva vrednic de iubirea lui , și vice- versa .
    Acest lucru poate fi , de asemenea, numit ca lui Dumnezeu în cer , Lucky Seven , norocos sau cel mic carja .

    În plus, veți obține plictisitoare și pierde electricitate
    .

  18. forskolin dr oz how much on

    You have to write this things more.There are a fantastic amount of people that suffer by difficulties including obesity and increased excess
    weight in these modern times. The reason right behind this
    scenario would be the stressful lifestyle and unnatural program due
    to that they can no longer spend proper interest on their health.
    A number of them don’t have possibly time to exercise.
    For them, the simplest way to keep healthy is to
    start taking the suitable health supplements. If you
    are looking forward to get an effective and checked organic dietary supplement, Forskolin may accomplish your
    needs to much extent. The absolute extract of Forskolin has long been utilised
    as an practical slimming pill.

  19. ivip9 slot on

    One more thing. I think that there are quite a few travel insurance web sites of trustworthy companies that allow you enter a trip details and have you the quotations. You can also purchase this international travel insurance policy on internet by using your current credit card. Everything you should do should be to enter all travel information and you can start to see the plans side-by-side. Just find the program that suits your finances and needs and use your credit card to buy it. Travel insurance on the web is a good way to take a look for a reputable company regarding international travel insurance. Thanks for revealing your ideas.


Leave a comment