Bodyshock: The Amazing Story behind the 256 Year-Old Man

Li Ching-Yun
Li Ching-Yun. Image from The People’s Republic of China

According to the 1933 obituaries in both Time Magazine and the New York Times, Li Ching-Yun was reported to have buried 23 wives and fostered 180 descendants by the time he died at the age of 256.

Was he really that old? Could he have forgotten his own birthday or exaggerated his claim? Environmental Graffiti investigates.

The Secrets to an Interminable Life

“Keep a quiet heart, sit like a tortoise, walk sprightly like a
pigeon and sleep like a dog.” These were the words of advice Li gave to
Wu Pei-fu, the warlord, who took Li into his house to learn the secret
of extremely long life.

Li maintained that inward calm and peace of mind were the secrets to
incredible longevity. His diet after all, was mainly based on rice and
wine.

From 0 to 256

Unsurprisingly, not much is known about Li Ching-Yun’s early life.
We know he was born in the province of Szechwan in China, where he also
died. We also know that by his tenth birthday, Ching-Yun was literate
and had travelled to Kansu, Shansi, Tibet, Annam, Siam and Manchuria
gathering herbs. After that, it gets a bit fuzzy…

Apparently, for over one hundred years, Li continued selling his own
herbs and then subsequently sold herbs collected by others. He also
(according to Time) had six-inch long fingernails on his right hand.

You might be thinking that he looked decrepit, shrivelled,
leather-like and creepy, however sources at the time were astonished at
his youthfulness. Was this suspect? Was Li Ching-Yun as old as he
claimed he was, or was his birthday a clerical error or exaggeration?

Let’s take a brief look at both sides…

The Nine Lives of Li Ching-Yun

By his own admission he was born in 1736 and had lived 197 years.
However, in 1930 a professor and dean at Minkuo University by the name
of Wu Chung-chien, found records “proving” that Li was born in 1677.
Records allegedly showed that the Imperial Chinese Government
congratulated him on his 150th and 200th Birthdays.

So the question is, had he forgotten his own birthday? Was this even the same Li Ching-Yun?

Looking at all of this from a medical and documented perspective:
Jeanne Louise Calment, a French woman who died in 1997 so far holds the
title for the person who has roamed the earth the longest: 122 years,
which is a phenomenal length of time.

That means, that if the records discovered by Wu Chung-chien were
accurate, Li Ching-Yun’s age would surpass the official record by more
than 130 years. Is this even medically possible?

The detail, which seems to prove both arguments and debunk them at
the same time, is Li’s youthful appearance, noted in a 1928 article
from the New York Times. Visually and physically, he appeared to look
like a typical 60 year-old. Does this therefore signify a superhuman
body capable of lasting one quarter of a millennium, or is the story of
Li Ching-Yun based on a series of half-truths, lies or exaggerations?

Unfortunately, we may never know. You may draw your own logical conclusions.

91 comments so far

  1. First of all I ant to say awesome blog! I had a quick
    queetion that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior tto writing.
    I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughtss in getting my
    ideas out there. I do enjoy writing however it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minmutes tend to be wssted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or hints? Thank you!

  2. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s
    the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

  3. Trent on

    You made some really good points there. I looked on the web for additional information about the issue and found most individuals will go
    along with your views on this website.

  4. IT Support in NYC on

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about.

    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side
    effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  5. http://www.eustonmassage.co.uk/ on

    I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a
    blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on
    the head. The problem is an issue that not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  6. เกมส์ยิง on

    This page certainly has all the information and facts I wanted about this subject and didn’t know who to
    ask.

  7. เกมส์ขับรถ on

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am genuinely impressed to read all at single place.

  8. sbobet on

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am genuinely
    happy to read all at single place.

  9. sbobet on

    This is my first time pay a visit at here and i am in fact pleassant to read all at one
    place.

  10. I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my
    personal blogroll.

  11. acn reviews on

    I know this site gives quality dependent content and other data, is there any other site
    which offers such stuff in quality?

  12. telexfree on

    Howdy, I believe your blog may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in
    I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to
    provide you with a quick heads up! Apart from that, excellent blog!

  13. Emerson on

    certainly like your web site but you have to take a look at the spelling on several of your posts.
    Many of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth then
    again I’ll definitely come back again.

  14. vigrx plus testimonials 2011 on

    Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    guidance from an established blog. Is it hard to set up
    your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thank you

  15. vigrx xxl on

    Hurrah! In the end I got a weblog from where I be capable of truly obtain useful facts regarding my study and knowledge.

  16. Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this web site before but after going through
    some of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I stumbled upon it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back regularly!

  17. body by vi on

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a friend
    who was doing a little homework on this. And he actually bought
    me dinner simply because I stumbled upon it for him…

    lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending time to discuss this subject here on your website.

  18. technorati.com on

    Hi! I simply wish to offer you a huge thumbs up
    for your great information you have got right here on this post.

    I am coming back to your site for more soon.

  19. If you would like to grow your knowledge just keep visiting this web site and
    be updated with the newest news posted here.

  20. isagenix back office on

    Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would really like to
    have you share some stories/information. I know
    my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested,
    feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  21. Rudolph on

    Nice weblog right here! Additionally your site quite
    a bit up very fast! What web host are you the usage of?
    Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink in your
    host? I want my website loaded up as quickly as yours
    lol

  22. Antwan on

    Yes! Finally someone writes about Corroboree.

  23. Magnificent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  24. sbo222|sbo333 on

    The way you behave toward others has more tto do with your
    personality than with anything they sayy or do. SBOBET is also considered one of the ideal in
    the world when it comes to athletics betting, ranked little or no.
    Reading these tips and usimg them in placing your bets will help
    you to win and also some sites publish free tips and help
    us with choosing the team to increase our win.

  25. whoah this weblog is magnificent i like studying your posts.

    Stay up the good work! You realize, many people are hunting around for this info, you can aid
    them greatly.

  26. sbobet on

    Bonuses from bookmakers is a good opportunity to make extra money on the bets, use it.

    Some individuals want too look at when they are at home, while others like to come with their associates to the area.
    They’ve got turned their interest for sports into some thing
    that has substantially motivated their every day daily life too.

  27. youtube on

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn.
    This is a really well written article. I’ll
    make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  28. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly loved surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write
    again soon!

  29. Launa on

    My brother recommended I might like this web
    site. He was totally right. This post truly made my
    day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent
    for this information! Thanks!

  30. Margareta on

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My website is in
    the exact same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from some of
    the information you provide here. Please let me know if this ok with
    you. Thank you!

  31. http://www.gmag.gr/ on

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through
    some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and
    checking back often!

  32. Mckenzie on

    I will immediately grab your rss as I can’t
    to find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Please permit me realize so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

  33. Nigel on

    Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I cannot subscribe to it.
    Is there anyone else having identical RSS issues?
    Anyone who knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  34. eurodatelink.com on

    Finger snacks, fruit trays, pepperoni and cheese platters, desserts, little quiches.
    Or showing her to build a house, a-game, and they examine
    you with bad eyes? Iam going on month 3 so I do not feel so terrible.

  35. Annie on

    This amazing site was started as Bears I am Jealous Of which was completely focused on hairy
    men.

  36. เสื้อคู่ on

    Some people use diaper sprayers that you hook up
    to your toiet costing up to $50. It ccan resuylt in the spread of harmful bacteria that can innfect your child.

    With so mahy options available, you have to make a wise choice
    of what kin of nappies to use.

  37. sbobet on

    Howdy exceptional website! Does running a blog similar
    to this require a massive amount work? I have no knowledge of computer programming but I had been hoping
    to start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow, should you have any ideas or
    tips for new blog owners please share. I understand
    this is off subject however I just had to ask. Thanks!

  38. poze cu rochi de seara on

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  39. Equipment for layer installment is another purchase to consider when selecting blinds.

    A pal of head once said that the best thing concerning
    the Web is, “It’s the great equalizer.

  40. The only real fuel economy research I possibly could find were about the M
    5. Michael Myers is really a horrifying character equally quiet
    and persistent in his pursuit to destroy. Mary Harron, the director, describes all on
    DVD.

  41. cheesy pick up lines on

    There are different kinds of pick up lines for women and guys.

    Appearing serious is something you need to allow the other person think about you from the onset.
    In fact, there are even greatest pickup traces.

  42. coloring pages dinosaurs on

    So – if weare moving in March – we create the
    calendar for February and March. Only google “dentist coloring pages” and many color
    possibilities is likely to be shown. They can then take home your soiled clothing.

  43. can I grow taller on

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was
    wanting to know your situation; we have created some nice practices and we are looking to swap solutions with others,
    be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  44. whatsapp download free on

    But can others still see what area you’re from? This is
    something which my pc hasn’t been satisfied with. For the absolute most part, they’re customized
    to ensure they match correctly.

  45. Lastly, browse the additional options by going the apparatus icon.
    It Is with all the engineering like internet, mail reading, games, GPRS or several additional.
    It’s black with yellow, and available only in black.

  46. http://majorahn.blogspot.nl on

    In the meantime, the Samsung Galaxy S3 is aiming for a
    new record. Amongst all the Apple iPhones I will suggest you to purchase the latest iPhone4 is available in two variants
    ie. And whatever smartphone you use, have fun with
    it!

  47. Before purchasing furniture from furnishings Grosfillex shops on-line in India, you should
    definitely rent a vacation rental or furnished apartment from
    New York Habitat furnished apartment vvideo tour today.
    Grosfillex Resin furniture has become a viable alternative to wood.
    Getta and Stef, knowing this, and that helped us to understand restaurant furniture job lot how the fire spread over furniture to help keep clean.

  48. http://www.owlcushion.com on

    You can embellish your newly made pillow or choose to
    leave it plain. The cuisine is mostly African but the chef
    is well versed in all continental dishes. You will want to keep this pillow around for many uses.

  49. Choose what goes in this notification pub from the Options menu.

    Here too jailbreaking works and you obtain your kind of themes and wallpapers.
    The iphone5 will probably be the name for your next-generation iPhone.

  50. download ireb para windows on

    The issue is the Android applications are often formatted for
    phones. You should use the TinyUmbrella software to save the SHSH of one’s iPhone.
    If you’re bored with iPhone, you could use a theme manager.

  51. download iReb r6 on

    Both Apple and Samsung, previously, have already been worldwide
    with various patent lawsuits. In the AssistiveTouch interface, you’ll get the “Generate new Gesture” choice.
    There is a ridiculous reason to jail breaking devices.

  52. Genevieve on

    You can use Dev team technique to unlock your 3G iphone.
    But if he experienced an Android phone, he may have.
    Following getting into your password, it will immediately obtain to your gadget and be ready for
    use.

  53. Tyson on

    You can also make modifications in the custom seems with winter season board.
    For instance, choose the “AVI”-Audio-Video clip Interleaved (Divx) as the output structure.
    Its because tethered jailbreaks are irritating.

  54. iphone cydia sources ios 7 on

    It is also a great way to pay attention to new musicians or find fresh tracts.

    Often, you will be given a paper game sheet to use with your Mexican Jumping Beans.
    After a whilst the pc will play another audio.

  55. I educate my team to commit 3-5 hours every day on the home business.
    Several of the new arrangements we acquired are the following.
    The popularity of onlinegames is continually increasing.

  56. best ipad apps 9 month old on

    You also can’t just go to Mobile Safari, search and obtain it.

    If you need any of the above functionality, you merely have no
    other choice but to jailbreak our IPod Contact. Gadgets running iOS five will have an option to Lock the
    device.

  57. When Mike’s wife stayed at home, she did the day-to-day
    chores and errands. There is one benefit, although,
    and that is that you may lose the Apple warranty on your iPhone
    3.

  58. sprężarka on

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He used to be totally right.
    This publish truly made my day. You cann’t consider simply how so much time I had spent for
    this info! Thanks!

  59. fitness katowice on

    What’s up colleagues, its impressive piece of writing concerning tutoringand completely
    explained, keep it up all the time.

  60. bikenge.ga on

    The overall game may also be played on iPhones, iPads and through the King.com website.
    The same as in reallife, in YoVille you might also need to produce a dwelling.
    Have fun playing these free online shooting activities!

  61. Therese on

    I’m not certain the place you’re getting your info,
    however great topic. I must spend a while finding
    out much more or working out more. Thank
    you for fantastic info I used to be in search of this information for my mission.

  62. keraplex bio valor on

    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your website provided us with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive job and our entire community will
    be thankful to you.

  63. I think this is among the most vital information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is perfect,
    the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  64. Leona on

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.

    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say superb blog!

  65. www.snipni.com on

    Many, I do not know any private information about them.

  66. how to get pregnant legs up on

    Actually no matter if someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other
    users that they will help, so here it takes place.

  67. Kara on

    Do you recall when you upgraded the firmware version last moment?
    This is the just like the battery life for iPad 2; 10 hours for the
    fundamental iPad 2, 9 hours for iPad 3G. All retweets picked and are
    tested deliberately!

  68. 91.238.135.249 on

    Now sit back and relax while Redsnow .9.7b4 requires care of
    the rest. This software is one of the top 20 applications and has been known to totally free (keep an eye out).

  69. Marta on

    Insist on purchasing the iPad in this problem only. I chose it over numerous choices
    for my dissertation. Of course, the iPad 2 has front- and rear-facing cameras.

    Is not it easier and cheaper to accomplish everything myself?

  70. http://www.latinluv.com on

    SBSetting is a should have function for an iphone 4. Your photograph will be saved in your new album named as “Saved Photos”.
    Amazon launched the Pill Pc Kindle Fire. Android was constructed to be open from
    the leap.

  71. riverbeautiful.com on

    Now sit back again and unwind whilst Redsnow .9.7b4 takes care of
    the rest. Assistance consists of videos and an expertly written guide to get you via the
    set up process fairly quickly.

  72. Myrtle on

    By default, plenty of features in iPhone are not manageable.

  73. Backup activities to your internal hard drive or external hard drive through
    USB, and start directly off GUI. Lots of different apps enable you to download publications.

    Eventually, go to an application to the iPad (i.e.

  74. installous xd proxy php on

    They may have been broken and then returned by a customer.
    What if you don’t like the merchandise when you get
    it? When you restart your gadget, you’ll see a new icon on your
    homescreen, called cydia.

  75. goji pro on

    Why visitors still use to read news papers when in this technological
    globe everything is existing on net?

  76. Newton on

    These attributes developed for Rooted Android os gadgets and the apple iphone
    4/iPad. All the above-mentioned apps are available for totally free.
    Its personal internal memory has a capacity of sixteen GB.

  77. iReb download on

    Do not get upset by Apple’s rules! jailbreak your
    iPhone and download our application! If proper, discover whenever they encourage and may publicize the function electronically.

  78. fortunebuilders.Zendesk.com on

    If some one needs expert view concerning blogging after that i propose him/her to pay a visit this weblog,
    Keep up the good work.

  79. download whatsapp on pc on

    They’re the absolute most inexpensive kind of shades.
    So, do not do any unlawful online activity and expect to make do with it!
    AOL unveiled itself as something of the wading pool, by opening itself for the Web.

  80. Staci on

    They offer just activity that is enough to get the most effective
    picture, while maintaining a distinct page. “Comic Con is really a party of pop-culture in every art forms. Pick any or all of them, they’re absolutely FREE!

  81. http://miruruna.blogspot.de on

    The jailbreak process can also be removed by simply updating
    your Working system from Apple. My concept is made
    up of two hundred images that rotate each thirty seconds in a slide display.

  82. cydia apps without jailbreak on

    Among the first things a lot of people consider changing is their MySpace format.

  83. prosperity-link.com on

    The Montreal Canadiens’ – Habs – balloon got caught over a pine!
    The lower the ratings, the more electricity your system probably will waste.
    The program performs for approximately $10 with your laptop.

  84. Steffen on

    Baseband is a part of iOS which controls your
    connection to the service network. It also shows you the hostname.

  85. optimizare site wordpress on

    Site-uri au devenit unul dintre acele must-have
    lucruri pe Web .

  86. ibs-Analytics.com on

    It’s genuinely very difficult in this active life to listen news on TV, therefore
    I simply use internet for that purpose, and take the
    most recent information.

  87. Mojoproau.Zendesk.com on

    This is my first time pay a quick visit at here and i am in fact pleassant to read everthing at one place.

  88. acne cause on

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your site.
    You have some really good articles and I believe I would be a
    good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog
    in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested.

    Cheers!

  89. http://www.car-audio-upgrades.co.uk/ on

    Excellent items from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff
    previous to and you are just too fantastic. I actually like
    what you’ve obtained right here, really like what you are stating
    and the way in which during which you are saying it.
    You’re making it entertaining and you continue to take care of
    to stay it smart. I cant wait to read far more from you.
    That is really a tremendous site.

  90. iny.me on

    With an unlock code, the device can be used by any supplier.

  91. operation system on

    Good site you have here.. It’s hard to find
    good quality writing like yours nowadays. I truly appreciate people
    like you! Take care!!


Leave a Reply

